DeKalb County’s Johnson Elected To State Soybean Committee

DeKalb County’s Ben Johnson was elected to the Alabama Farmers Federation State Soybean Committee at the 2018 Commodity Organizational Meeting in Montgomery Feb. 6. From left are State Soybean Committee Chairman Colt Clemmons of Lauderdale County and Johnson.

Contributed Photo

More than 600 farmers representing 16 commodities gathered in Montgomery Feb. 6-8 for the Alabama Farmers Federation Commodity Organizational Meeting. They heard industry updates, learned about cutting-edge technology and elected leaders to state commodity committees.

New committee members were elected for 16 state commodity committees, which are responsible for reporting on agricultural issues and concerns and helping establish the Federation’s governing policies. Those committees are:

• Bee and honey

• Beef

• Catfish

• Cotton

• Dairy

• Equine

• Forestry

• Greenhouse, nursery and sod

• Hay and forage

• Horticulture

• Meat goat and sheep

• Pork

• Poultry

• Soybean

• Wheat and feed grains

• Wildlife Resources

The Federation also represents peanut farmers through the Alabama Peanut Producers Association, which held elections during the group’s annual meeting Feb. 8 in Dothan.

During daily luncheons, longtime leaders from state commodity committees were recognized for their service. Committee members rotate off after serving three, three-year terms. Those honored were:

• Bill Mullins, Madison County, bee and honey

• Andy Webb, Washington County, bee and honey

• Robert Earl Acker, Cherokee County, soybean

• Paul Looney, Limestone County, wheat and feed grains

• Tom Ingram, Lee County, cotton

• Thomas Kirkland, Dale County, cotton

• Joe Mullek, Baldwin County, cotton

• Jeremy Calvert, Cullman County, horticulture

• Joe Roberts, Fayette County, poultry

• Tommy Thompson, Covington County, poultry

• Jan Woodham, Dale County, poultry

• Grady Bobo, Tuscaloosa County, wildlife resources

• Randy Gilmore, Jefferson County, wildlife resources

• Randy Hollingsworth, Hale County, catfish

• Will Pearce, Dallas County, catfish

• James Waite Sr., Covington County, dairy

• Wade Hill, Lawrence County, hay and forage

Lunch on Feb. 6 also included two special presentations. The Alabama Wheat and Feed Grains Producers presented a plaque to Dr. Kathy Flanders, who retired in January from Auburn University and the Alabama Cooperative Extension Service. Cherokee County farmer Matt McMichen also received a $10,000 check from the Alabama Soybean Producers for winning the 100-Bushel Soybean Challenge.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.