The Marshall County Board of Education recognized several teachers during its final meeting of the year on Thursday, Dec. 12, for their acceptance into the National Board Certification Teacher (NBCT) training program.

Seven Marshall County Schools teachers received a scholarship of $1,900 to help pay for the program. Ken Kirby, who presented the teachers their scholarship/grant award certificates during the meeting, said the candidates were chosen based on their merit. Each teacher had to go through a rigorous application process, he said.

According to the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards Certification, just 3% of teachers were certified in 2011.

NBCT Scholarship recipients included:

• Tammy Pearce, Asbury Elementary. - kindergarten, literacy: reading-language arts

• Nicole Carroll, Asbury High School - business: career & technical education

• Andrea Murray, Douglas High School - science: adolescence & young adulthood

• Meagan Weaver, Asbury & Douglas High School - school counseling

• Janell Satterfield, Douglas High School - science: adolescence & young adulthood

• Tish Bryant, Douglas High - English Language Arts (ELA), ELA: adolescence & young adulthood

• Beth Shay Martin, DAR Elementary. – Pre-K, Literacy: reading-language Arts

“We’re very proud of you ladies for what you all have done,” board president Terry Kennamer said. “Y’all have went above and beyond and done extra … the board is very proud of y’all.”

Student Services Supervisor Janna Bonds updated the board on current grant initiatives and book study program. Bonds said the program has received more than $1,000 worth of books. Regarding professional development, she said Marshall County Schools were leading the state in 763 course completions across six English language education workshops.

In other business, the board:

• Approved the agenda for the Dec. 12 meeting

• Approved the minutes from the Nov. 7 meeting

• Reviewed the career and technical education policy updates

• Reviewed the campus visitor policy update to include sex offenders. Both policy updates will be up for approval at the next board meeting in January.

The board also voted to approve the following items:


1. Dr. Stephanie Wisener, Federal Programs Supervisor, to attend the National Association of Federal Programs Administrators Conference, Washington D.C., March 14-19, 2020, paid from Title I funds.

2. Karla Hernandez and Christy Davis, home visitation, to attend mandatory Foundation 2 training, St. Louis, Missouri, Jan. 23-26, 2020, paid from Preparing Achievers for Tomorrow (PAT) grant.

3. Ashley McCollum, director- home visitation, to attend new director training per grant requirements, St. Louis, Missouri, Jan. 7-10, 2020, paid from PAT grant.

4. Douglas High School Varsity and Junior Varsity Cheer Squads, UCA National Competition,

Orlando, Florida, Feb. 5-10, 2020, paid from local funds. A charter bus will be used for transportation.



1.Cindi McKinney, teacher, Claysville School, retirement, effective Jan. 1, 2020.

2. David Gamble, teacher, DAR High School, retirement, effective Oct. 1, 2019.

3. Philip Cleveland, supervisor, Marshall County Board of Education, retirement effective

Dec. 1, 2019.



1. Bailey Tarvin, teacher, Douglas Middle School, boys head soccer coach, Douglas High School, effective Dec. 12, 2019.

2. Seth Kelley, teacher, Brindlee Mountain High School, boys and girls varsity golf coach, effective Dec. 12, 2019.


1.Creslee Parrish, Office of School Readiness (OSR) PreK teacher, Claysville School, to Special Education (SPED) pre-K teacher, Claysville School, effective Jan. 6, 2020.

2. Hailey Davidson, Preschool Auxiliary Teacher, Claysville School, to PreK Lead Teacher, effective School year 19-20, paid through Department of Early Childhood Education (DECE) and Title I funds.

Leaves of Absence (LOA)

1. Dora Battles, Child Nutrition Program (CNP) stock clerk/janitor, Douglas Middle School, medical LOA.

2. Jason Smith, supply driver, Transportation Department, medical LOA effective Dec. 2-12, 2019.

3. Hammond Cryer, bus driver, transportation department, medical LOA effective Nov. 21, 2019-January 6, 2020.

4. Lois Crabtree, CNP, DAR Campus, medical LOA effective Nov. 4, 2019-Jan. 3, 2020.

New Employees

1. Bradley Ogle, Douglas Learning Center Co-op student, Douglas Middle School CNP, 1 hour per day or part time/$10 per hour, effective Jan. 6, 2020.

2. Heather Frost Rabending, SPED teacher, Brindlee Mountain High School, effective Jan. 6, 2020.

3. Janna Wier, bus driver, transportation department, effective Dec. 9, 2019.

4.Crystal Tims, computer instructional assistant, Douglas Elementary, effective Oct. 1, 2019, paid from Title 1 funds.

Before the board adjourned, board member Brian Naugher thanked the other board members for a good first year serving on the board.

“So, it marks one year that I’ve been on the board,” he said. “It’s been fun, it’s been challenging, it’s been frustrating … I want to, again, thank everybody here in the central office and out in the field and all the principals, et cetera.

“Another thing … is how grateful everybody on the board is and across the district for our legislative body that supports our schools across the entire district,” he added. “We couldn’t do what we do without their support.”

“We’d like to wish our board a very Merry Christmas,” Superintendent Cindy Wigely said. “We appreciate you and all you do for us.”

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.