Qualifying for the upcoming for the upcoming municipal election ended Tuesday, July 21.

The following candidates qualified to run in their respective municipalities:


Mayor: Tracy Honea

Council Place 1: Ben McGowan

Council Place 2: Jill Oakley 

Council Place 3: Charles Bailey 

Council Place 4: Ray Kennamer

Council Place 5: Nathan Broadhurst


Mayor: John “Chuck” Ables

Council, at Large (top five chosen): Angelia F. Camp; Tim Gilbert; Sherrie Hiett; Larry “Punch” Lingerfelt; Shon Rogers; Stanley Rooks; Joseph “Joey” Satterfield; Scott Tarrant; Tony Taylor


Mayor: Tera Fortenberry; Roger Dino Richards 

Council Place 1: Jinnette Bixby; Nelson Ferrell 

Council Place 2: Brad Hood; Misty Spence 

Council Place 3: Larry Colvin; Faye Kilgo 

Council Place 4: Lisa D. Collins; Tommy Griffin; Bryan Ray 

Council Place 5: Jimmy F. Barnhill; Connie Brothers; Steven Smith


Mayor: David Dyar and Tim Walker

Place 1: David Ellis and Darrell Parker

Place 2: Jeff Davis and Josh Greer

Place 3: Johnny Willis and Jerry Battles

Place 4: Jeff Sims and Chad Cofield

Place 5: Mike Matthews

Sardis City

Mayor: Russell Amos

Place 1: Scott Whitt, Chris Wahl and Bobby Pounds

Place 2: Brian N. Carnes and G.R. “Cooter” Mosley

Place 3: Keith Wright

Place 4: Chris Royal

Place 5: Lucas Hallmark

The municipal election will take place Tuesday, Aug. 25.

(1) comment


god bless USA

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.