Alabama (10-1, 6-1) and Auburn (8-3, 4-3) will meet for the 84th time on Saturday. CBS will televise the contest at 2:30 p.m. from Jordan-Hare Stadium.

Fans can listen to the game on FM 92.7 for the Crimson Tide, FM 95.9 for the Tigers, Sirius 81 and XM 81.

Alabama holds a 46-36-1 (.560) lead in a series that dates back to the 1893 season. The Crimson Tide and Tigers first met on Feb. 22, 1893, at Birmingham’s Lakeview Park, with the Tigers claiming a 32-22 victory.

Alabama has had the upper hand in recent meetings, claiming eight of the last 11 contests. The Crimson Tide won 52-21 in 2018 at Bryant-Denny Stadium.

Crimson Tide head coach Nick Saban is 10-7 all-time against Auburn, including an 8-4 mark in the Iron Bowl. Auburn head coach Gus Malzahn is 2-4 against Alabama.

Auburn leads the Iron Bowl 16-10 when the game is played on campus and leads 9-5 in games played in Auburn. The Tigers won 26-14 at Jordan-Hare Stadium in 2017.

For the 34th time since 1980, at least one team is ranked in the Associated Press Top 25 entering the Iron Bowl.

Neither team was ranked in 1982, 1998 and 2003. Alabama is No. 5 in the current AP poll and is ranked entering the Iron Bowl for the 45th time in history. Auburn is ranked No. 16 in the AP poll this week.

The Crimson Tide is 32-12 (.727) against the Tigers when ranked in the AP poll. Auburn has been ranked a total of 30 times in Iron Bowl history and has compiled a 21-9 (.700) record when ranked in the AP Top 25.

The highest-ranked team owns a 46-11 (.807) record in the series since 1955.

This season is the 30th anniversary of the first Iron Bowl played at Auburn. Head coach Pat Dye’s Tigers posted a 30-20 victory.

This year also marks the 20th anniversary of Alabama’s first win at Jordan-Hare Stadium, a 28-17 decision in 1999.

On July 13, 1948, the two circles of Omicron Delta Kappa, a national leadership honor society from Alabama and Auburn, joined together to sponsor a trophy devoted to sportsmanship between the two universities. The ODK-James E. Foy V Sportsmanship Trophy is a tradition that symbolizes the good relationship between the two schools.

Originally the trophy was displayed in Birmingham in Loveman’s store window the week prior to the football game between the two universities. Then, in a parade preceding the game, the trophy would be carried in a convertible with the Omicron Delta Kappa presidents from each school on either side. The parade was stopped in the 1960s, but the trophy has continued to be awarded every year.

The trophy is now awarded to the winner at halftime of the Alabama-Auburn basketball game on the winner’s home court. The trophy remains in their care until the next year’s presentation takes place.

In January 1978, the trophy was dedicated to Dean James E. Foy V upon his retirement as the dean of student affairs at Auburn University.

He began serving in that position in 1950 after serving as assistant dean of students at the University of Alabama.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.